Defensive Driving (Driver Safety Course)

If you are charged with a traffic moving violation, you may request to take a driving safety course to dismiss your citation. You must meet all eligibility requirements to qualify for this option. The request must be made in-person on or before the appearance date on the citation, 21 business days from the date of citation. If you were operating a motorcycle and request to take a driving safety course, you must take a motorcycle operator's training course.

You are eligible to take a Driving Safety Course if you:
  • Have not taken a course for a traffic offense within the last 12 months;
  • Are not currently taking the course for another traffic violation;
  • Have not committed the offense of speeding 25 mph over the speed limit;
  • Have not committed one of the following offenses:
    • Failure to Give Information at Accident Scene;
    • Leaving Scene of Accident.
    • Fleeing or Attempting to Elude a Police Officer;
    • Reckless Driving
    • Passing a School Bus
    • A serious traffic violation, which applies to commercial motor vehicle operators;
    • An offense in a construction maintenance zone when workers are present.
At the time of the request, you must:
    • Present proof of financial responsibility (liability insurance);
    • Show proof that you hold a valid Texas Driver's License, that is not a commercial driver's license;
    • Plead 'guilty' or 'no contest'
The fee you must pay the court is assessed by the State. The fees are as follows:
  • $144.00 All charges except Speeding School Zone violations
  • $169.00 Speeding school zone violation

You will have 90 days from the date of the request to submit, to the court, the certificate from the driving safety course along with your driving record from DPS. The class must be approved by the Department of Public Safety or Texas Education Agency (class must be state certified) and a motorcycle operator’s course must be approved by the Department of Public Safety. This proof will be required before we can dismiss your citation.

If you do not take the course in the time required and/or fail to present the court with a certificate of completion and/or your driving record, the court will notify you of a show cause hearing. Your failure to be present at that hearing will result in a warrant for your arrest being issued and additional charges may also be filed.

Special Conditions or Ineligibility
  • If you are age 16 or under, and would like to request Defensive Driving, you must appear before the Judge with a parent and/or guardian.
  • You may NOT take defensive driving if you have already paid your fine or made payment arrangements.
  • If you have a Commercial Drivers License (CDL) you are NOT eligible for Defensive Driving.

For additional information, please contact the Saginaw Municipal Court at 817-232-4640.